M Squared

December 2010

NEWS Jul 09 Aug 09 Nov 09 Dec 09 Jan 10 Mar 10 Apr 10 May 10
Jun 10 Jul 10 Sept 10 Nov 10 Mar 11

Fuzz Lost Fuzz

a rare night of drone, noise, minimal synth and demented soundscapes. This utterly fantastic bill is not to be missed!!!
Fuzz Lost Fuzz - 2011

Breathing Shrine are an improvising, psychedelic, noise -rock duo from Melbourne, comprised of Robert Mayson (Grey Daturas, Whitehorse) and Bonnie Mercer (Grey Daturas, Rocky’s Room).

Constant Light is Sasha and James from Melbourne, a half-studio half-live project that aims to recombine the rift between silence and noise, texture and tone, light and darkness.

AXXONN is Tom Hall, a solo sound artist - he travels the world, fights crime, solves mysteries and plays brutalities on synths and drum machines.

Borgia are all mono synth, lo fi and dirty. A maelstrom of motorik beats and sine wave all wrapped up in a surrealistic pillow on a 747 heading for the drink.

Scattered Order will be joined by Shane Fahey to open the night with a special performance of a less raucous, but just as intriguing, sound collage.

Friday 28 January 2011 - Excelsior Hotel
64 Foveaux Street - Surry Hills
$12 - Doors 8pm

Adjust the terminology - Scattered Order

Scattered Order are proud to announce the release of their new recording “Adjust the terminology”, a co-production between Austrian label Klanggalerie and the band's own Rather be Vinyl label.

2009 saw the release of the live CDr “SO” where original members Mitch Jones and Michael Tee joined forces to trample some old tunes and weld up some new. Quickly realising the exciting sound possibilities, recording started in February 2010 with the addition of Craig Robertson and the assistance of Dru Jones. The result is a mix of deleted technology and computers held together with fuzz guitar, TV dinner samples and a sense of humour. Final mixes were completed by old label mate Shane Fahey at Megaphon studios.

Operating from the other side of the wire for over 30 years, this new release finds the band continuing their exploration of music making possibilities and refining their take on tune/noise.

Available on CD at Shop and Klanggalerie
or digital download at scatteredorder.bandcamp

1 Eat at Joes Vs Why
2 Ruined by me
3 Viral Rhythm
4 Astro Pants
5 Oil and Plank
6 I want to be in a castle
7 Rotten Burroughs
8 Thunk Tank

Adjust the terminology - 2010

Adjust the terminology - gg146

Territory + Population - A Cloakroom Assembly

A Cloakroom Assembly’s debut album for Endgame, titled
Territory + Population, is a hypnotic, brooding, melodic soundtrack for modern life. A Cloakroom Assembly is the psuedonym of pioneering Australian sound artist Michael Tee. This new release combines elements of old German space rock, 1950’s Sci-Fi soundtracks, minimalism, modal structures, planned accidents, palimpsest, low-fi and low-tech keyboards, mrrk sound beds, abstract loops, and treated guitars.

Available from Endgame Records.

Images from the Sydney Album Launch can be seen on flickr.

1 One Night on Stanwell Park Beach
2 Tom Salty
3 Beltane Jzzzz
4 Circa 1958
5 Budding Frute
6 Space Variation V
7 Territory + Population

Territory + Population - 2010

Territory + Population - END023

Terrace Industry - M Squared Box 1980 - 1983

With the assistance of Ascension Records, M Squared have revisited their catalogue to compile their favourites into Terrace Industry an M Squared box set of 81 tracks over 4 CDs. Originally released on vinyl or cassette by the M Squared label between 1980 and 1983 the majority of these tracks now appear on CD for the very first time.

This completely remastered 30-year anniversary set includes tracks from Systematics, The Makers of The Dead Travel Fast, Scattered Order, Ya Ya Choral, A Cloakroom Assembly, Patrick Gibson, Prod, Pel Mel, Wild West, SoliPsiK, The Limp, Tame O’Mearas, Severed Heads, Height/Dismay, Belle du Soir, The Slugfuckers, The Same, Splendid Mess, Pleasant Peasants and The Barons.

The Dru Jones designed box also contains a 36 page booklet with label history, recollections from the bands involved and previously unpublished photos, plus a set of commemorative drink coasters.

Available from Ascension.

CD 1
1 Pulp Baby
2 Nuts to you
3 Product
4 Numbers In General
5 2,4,5,T
6 When I'm Older
7 Flowers On The Wall
8 Vanessa Teratology
9 Dinner's On The Table
10 Stuh Echipidah
11 Mmmm
12 Midnight On Balancing Day
13 Die For My House
14 International Voltage
15 Bovine
16 Fat Cows Go Down An Eastern Beach
17 BBD
Splendid Mess
18 NASA Secret Anzac
Patrick Gibson
19 Bland A
20 Church of England TV
21 Yeah OK
22 Catatonic

CD 2
The Makers of The Dead Travel Fast
1 Dead travel fast
2 Tael of a Saeghors
3 The Dumbwaiters
4 No Threat
5 Copper Hats
6 Lovers of Observatory Time
7 Speed
8 Twisting Toxic Forms
9 Fibrephone
10 Lumber
11 Sea Heads
12 We sway in our boats
13 Fighting Baboons
A Cloakroom Assembly
14 Fossil Crash Sleeping
15 Trace and Rumble
16 Trace and Tumble

CD 3
Scattered Order
1 Bent Up
2 I'm not whole
3 Pilot reads crosswords
4 The Learn Useless Knowing
5 Wronging Dogs with Ladders
6 Hold My Cold Hand
7 Heat
8 Personal Safety
9 Yellow Suit Weighing Machine
The Barons
10 Paint it Black
Height / Dismay
11 Girl from Ipanema
12 Mother's Footsteps
13 Picnic on the Nile
14 A brick short
15 Walkers Walk
16 n.w.o.b.
17 Coming Attractions
18 Fish Hook
19 See Saw
20 Chamber Musik
21 Zombod

CD 4
Ya Ya Choral
1 Waiting Time
2 Cowboys are Pt 2
3 No Control
4 Nonsense
5 Jolly Work
6 My friend the chocolate cake
7 You ruined my fun
8 God's Buzzsaw
Belle du Soir
9 Treasure Island
10 Ultramarine
Pel Mel
11 Click Click
Wild West
12 Pelican
The Limp
13 Pony Club
Tame O'Mearas
14 Curl Curl
No Night Sweats
15 Harry Wong's Cat
16 California Dreaming
The Same
17 Why
18 Dolphins ≠ Fish
Pleasant Peasants
19 Pussman Polka
Severed Heads
20 Eat Roland
21 Hello M Squared
M Squared
22 Hello Terse

Terrace Industry - 2010

Terrace Industry - ANCD 036

Prat Culture Plus - Scattered Order

Prat Culture Plus is now available from the esteemed Austrian label Klanggalerie. This limited edition CD sees Scattered Order's first two releases for M Squared (Prat Culture LP - 1982 and Screaming Tree EP - 1981) completely remastered and sonic integrity restored by William Bowden and the band.

Four unreleased versions of songs (both studio and live), a booklet with lyric sheet and newly discovered images complete this unique package.

For the first time this nerve tinged noise mountain is available on CD.

Obtain your copy directly from Klanggalerie

1 Slot Car Synth
2 Swiss like knives and forks
3 Absolute Moral Icepools
4 Contact European Repetition
5 Frank Sartre
6 Koo Koo Kamus
7 Prat Culture
8 Boys in Coal Trucks
9 Burros through Mexico
10 World's longest intro
11 Mass Murder
12 Screaming Tree
13 Through Litre Chase
14 World's longest intro (2JJ Mix)
15 Screaming Tree (Live '81)
16 Koo Koo Kamus (Live '82)
17 Boys in Coal Trucks (Live '82)

Prat Culture Plus - 2009

Prat Culture Plus - gg134

The Slated Pines - Shane Fahey

Shane Fahey from The Makers of the Dead Travel Fast brings you The Slated Pines, a solo recording of ambient sonic treasures. Combining tape loops, field recordings, analogue synthesisers and various found and constructed reverbs.

Featuring Tom Fielding, Jamie Fielding and Miss Siu

Released on Endgame Records

1 Gralins For Tramp
2 Mis_Spotter
3 Get Some Out Time
4 Scatter Floor For Food
5 Book Of Trees
6 Indo Dome
7 For and Against The Noise Barrier

The Slated Pines - Shane Fahey 2009

The Slated Pines - Endgame END022